quality and Patient Safety

The Quality and Patient Safety Committee is committed to promote and advocate a comprehensive patient safety program that serves our patients and CAS members, to establish initiatives that address specific areas, such as safe medication practices, simulation, anesthesia safety database, workplace human factors, education and research, and standards, and to advise the CAS Board of Directors regarding patient safety matters.

Quality and Patient Safety Chair(s)

Dr Conor Gerard Mc Donnell
Chair | Toronto, ON


  • Dr Lucie Filteau, Past Chair
  • Dr Anita Chakravarti
  • Dr Gregory Dobson
  • Dr Claudia Paola Gomez
  • Dr David Hakim
  • Dr Esther Shin Hyun Kang
  • Dr Niveditha Karuppiah
  • Dr Maha Said Al Mandhari
  • Dr Kelly Mayson
  • Dr Dolores McKeen
  • Dr Kowe Olajide
  • Dr Melissa Setiawan
  • Dr Saroo Sharda
  • Dr Kathryn Sparrow
  • Dr Vanessa Sweet
  • Dr Mullein Thorleifson
  • CAS President
  • Ms Cristina Mita
The CAS Chief Executive Officer (CEO) can attend committee meetings at their discretion​.

Resources – quality and Patient Safety